Faith Tong (Week 4): I'm getting old...

 I'm getting old...

    Is it just me or... my memory fails me sometimes? I find myself struggling to remember what I was going to do when I walk out of my room. All of a sudden I don't know where I put my keys and spend an eternity searching for them. My worst mistake is forgetting to text or call people back. (sighs) I guess I'm getting old and we're all going to be seniors next year! But on the bright side, I'm glad we have two types of memories: fluid and crystallized intelligence. 
    According to Brain Institute, "our ability to remember new information peaks in our 20s". That is our fluid intelligence, where we are able to process new information and comprehend it well. For example, maybe there's a new video game and I depend on my fluid intelligence to learn how to play and navigate through the game. Oh, I have a better example. My parents always stare at me in awe because of how fast I type, and although they've had phones for many years they still can't type as fast me (teehee). It's because their fluid intelligence has already peaked and it's hard for them to adapt to newer technology (it's ok they're trying their best lol). 
    Luckily, our crystallized intelligence is what makes us smart. Crystallized intelligence is accumulated knowledge that can help us in day to day situations. For example, I usually go to my mom for friendship advice (dramaaa) and she always knows what to do. I realized I always see a pattern, where she is able to use her past experiences with people and then apply it to the situation I am in. So the good thing is even though I am getting old, at least I somehow get smarter! 
    Back to my bad habit of forgetting to text or call people, I really need to work on that. My friends usually end up getting annoyed or mad that I don't check my phone or don't reply simply because I forget. All I do is see the text or call and remind myself mentally I will respond later if I am busy but always (emphasis on always) end up forgetting to do so. Then a few hours later, my brain has a realization where it goes "Oh shoot!" and I am forced to wallow in my stupidity of forgetting to respond to them. Any tips on how to remember to communicate better with people on social media? (please anything helps :D)

Comments